Christmas is Smothering Me

Let me make one thing clear: I like Christmas. I really, really do.

I love the decorations, some of the cheesy music, the parties, the time spent with family, and the quiet downtime I get when the holiday finally arrives.

I just do not like any of the aforementioned things the day after Halloween.

I was already in the mall twice this past weekend, and it took everything in my power not to flee. I tried my best to block out the schmaltzy Christmas music already blaring over the sound system.

I’m barely tolerating having to dodge and weave the multitudes of people shuffling, pushing strollers, or leisurely strolling, who are getting in the way of people like me just trying to get to our retail destinations, so we can get the items we came to get, and just get the hell out of there.

Hey! Mall people! Yeah – the planners, who all think bombarding folks with sights and sounds of the holiday season 7 weeks before Christmas is a good idea?

It’s NOT. You’re suffocating me to death with Christmas! Quit it!

I like to shop, but all this Christmas crap right now is killing whatever potential Bob Cratchett I had in me, and allowing the Ebenezer Scrooge to fester and spread.

I understand more each year why some people do not celebrate Christmas at all.

Seriously? I’m still adjusting to the fact we finally just had frost the other day. What’s the big hurry with the Yuletide stuff? It doesn’t get me to the mall any faster to do my Christmas shopping.

Here’s a compromise: the Santa Claus Parade is what, the 18th of this month (at least where I live)? Why not wait until then to go full-tilt on the ho-ho-hos and fa-la-la’s? I’m down with that, and I’m sure there are a lot of people who would agree with me.

If only there was a petition. Sigh. 

Leave a comment