A Dinner, to Finish

IMAG0425After the cinematic catastrophe that was MARY, Queen of Scots, Renée and I decided that could NOT be how our TIFF experience ended.

(Also: we wanted to use up two more vouchers.)

So on Sunday night, we rushed for a Dutch movie called The Dinner.

According to the blurb I read, this film is adapted from the 2009 best-selling novel of the same name (by Herman Koch), which was based on a real-life crime.

The majority of the film takes place at a restaurant where two brothers, Paul (a former teacher whose emotional volatility and unpopular opinions forced him to leave the profession) and Serge (an ambitious politician) and their wives meet to discuss what to do about Paul’s son – who may have committed a horrific crime.

The film starts off fairly innocuous – showing Paul’s supposedly happy home life – but as the storyline ambles along, it suggests that things aren’t what they seem.

Again, I admit I wasn’t fully sure if I understood everything that happened in the film. (And perhaps this indicates my lack of understanding regarding European-made films.) But it was better than The Film From The Night Before.

And I didn’t mind the way the film ended – anything that challenges my perception and leaves me asking questions at the end isn’t a bad thing.

And so ended my first – and only – complete TIFF experience.

It had its ups and downs, frustrations and surprises. But while I enjoyed it for the most part, I’m never doing TIFF in this fashion again.

I will tell you this: if a certain actor returns to TIFF next year, Renée and I have agreed to shell out the money for the gala, don dresses hot enough to stop traffic, and make an evening of it. Any movies after that will be bought at the box office or in a rush line.

And if the opportunity to gaze upon an actor I admire presents itself, I will wait and LINGER until I get it out of my system. If I’m going to be The Lady Who Lingers, I might as well own it.

One thought on “A Dinner, to Finish

Leave a Reply

