From Travelling to TIFF (and Back Again)

IMAG0325Hey y’all!

So it’s been, what, seven weeks, since my trip to the Bahamas with my friends?

(If you’ve been following along, y

ou’ll know my posts came to a most quiet end on Wednesday.)

Luckily because of the summer, I’ve managed to ride that post-holiday high a little longer than usual. Outings to free movies, friends visiting from other countries, and other get-togethers have handily filled that gap.

Admittedly, though, I’ve been feeling a bit of late-summer malaise. But hopefully not for long. Why?

Well, first and foremost, I’ve got another trip coming up later this month, which I’m slowly getting excited about. (You probably won’t see posts for those until well into October.)

And secondly? The Toronto International Film Festival (TIFF, for short) is upon us. In fact, it starts today.

I first went well over a decade ago, and have taken in the odd movie at TIFF a couple of times since then. But I’ve shied away in recent years, simply because of the way the festival seems to have exploded in popularity and star wattage … and price.

This year, I’d been on the fence up until a few weeks ago. But a friend of mine and I decided to take the plunge, and we’re splitting a ticket package.  It’s the first time we’ve gone this route, and in all honesty, we’ve found the initial experience – picking films on a specific day, by way of a lottery system – a bit frustrating. But hopefully in the end, the experience will be worth it.

The set-up for the "big show" later today ...
The set-up for the “big show” later today …

In a way, it’s also another way to be a tourist in my own town – that is,

seeing the world, but through film. And maybe, note unlike when I travel, unexpected things might happen. Or not. Who knows?

I can’t guarantee anything, but I’ll try my best to post at least a couple

of times during the festival – whether it’s to give my thoughts on a film I’ve seen, or maybe share an entertaining anecdote. (Likely, it’ll be thoughts on movies.)

But a new month (and, in a couple of weeks, a new season) is upon us. And it’s simply ripe with possibilities!

Let the festivities begin!

Leave a Reply

