A Is For Alfredo

Man, I can’t believe January is over already!

Truth be told, though, the new year has been a bit … off-kilter.

It may have started on New Year’s Eve.

Things were “typical” enough. I attended a friend’s house party, which was completely packed, but still fantastic – just as New Year’s Eve celebrations should be. Some new friends of mine stopped by from another party, and we merry until about 3:30 a.m.

When we left, I presumed we’d either go grab something to eat, or go our separate ways.

Instead, we ended up at this other party (where they’d been earlier). I must say, the vibe, the ambience was unbelieveably random and just … weird.

A couple of us made conversation with this one guy. And a couple others came up to me.

I ended up making conversation with one of them for, like, five or six minutes. From what I could recall, it was small talk. Nothing remarkable.

At around 5 a.m., we finally decided to leave for our friend’s condo. We wished each other a happy new year … and he piped up that we should keep in touch.

Before I knew it, numbers were exchanged, and I was out the door with my friends … and a feeling I was all too familiar with.

If you know about me or anything I’ve written about in the past, it’s that (a) I’m not consistent with the word “no” and (b) I have this problem with NOT being … nice?

After my initial annoyance with myself, I sort of brushed it off, rationalizing that, if anything, he probably wouldn’t call for at least a few days.

Less than 12 hours later, I was puttering around at home, when I noticed a message on my voice mail.

It was the stranger from the party, calling to wish me a happy new year, and hoping that we’d speak soon.

Um. Huh. Ooops.

Just as I was trying to figure out how to suss out the situation, I was hit with a nasty cold virus that had been circulating, a couple of days later.

Before I felt my cold’s full phlegmy fury, though, I turned to a male friend to get a his opinion.

His verdict? This guy wasn’t looking for friendship.

Hmmmm …

Fast forward eight days later. I was alternating between working and keeping my nostrils unblocked. All I wanted to do was sleep. Social texting was the last thing I felt like doing.

Then, The Stranger texted. He was hoping I was having a good year so far.

I texted back that I hadn’t been feeling well, and apologized for not responding sooner.

And that was that. For about two weeks.

Last week, he texted. How was I doing? Was I back to work? Had I seen the movie Haywire?

Last Saturday, he texted while I was out working. He wanted to call me. When was a good time?

And on Sunday evening, he called.

We spoke for about an hour. The conversation was decent. It wasn’t horrible or weird. There just wasn’t anything remarkable about it.

At its conclusion, he suggested we should go and catch a movie, and that he’d call later on in the week.

I don’t know. I mean, he’s a nice guy. And I’m trying to give him a chance. But whatever he might be thinking or feeling, I’m not sure if I’m on the same wavelength.

I brought this up with a friend of mine the other evening. She didn’t think I was leading him on in any way (presumably because we hadn’t gone out yet), and that I should just stop communicating with him, cold turkey. No calls, no texts. Period.

I’m not so sure that’s the right way to handle this. But perhaps I should go to the movies with this guy before I decide for sure what avenue I want to pursue next.

Siiiigh.

3 thoughts on “A Is For Alfredo

  1. stine says:

    If you’re not attracted to him, don’t waste your time, or his. You should trust your instincts. I’m a firm believer that if there’s not a little bit of that butterfly feeling at the beginning, it probably won’t ever happen. If you don’t want to date this person then you should go cold turkey…. he’s NOT looking for a friend. Why would he be that persistent? So… figure out how you feel!

  2. soph says:

    I disagree completely. go out with him, get to know him, you may end up liking him but at least give him a chance, hey, hes putting himself out there.

Leave a Reply

