“Trippin’ ” Over Plannin’

Ah, it’s that time of year at my workplace –

Summer vacation request time.

I’m always ambiguous about this.

Mainly, I hate the fact that they ask in MARCH, because:

(1) Where I work, my fellow employees are currently trying to use the vacation days they currently do have – in this case, they gotta do it in 14 days (barring special permission some of them have to get to carry them forward).

(2) I don’t friggin’ know what I’ll be doing two weeks from now! How am I supposed to know WHEN – between April and October – I want to take vacation?

(3) I personally think they shouldn’t be asking until April.

But secretly, part of me likes this because:

(1) It gets my butt in gear to start seriously thinking about I DO want to do with my vacation days.

(2) This year, I am jonesing for travel – especially since I haven’t left Canada for two years.

(3) I just got my passport renewed in February. Which means those blank, money-scented pages are begging to be broken in and stamped.

Last fall, I vowed that I was going to take a trip this coming September. I’ve already paid a visit to a tour company for a lovely, full-colour brochure. And scribbling out my hypothetical itineraries on a notepad has already gotten me kind of excited.

To further add to the mix, some friends of mine are thinking of expanding our yearly “girls’ weekend” – usually spent at a cottage – into a mini-trip, perhaps to an exotic locale.

This kind of complicates things, because I only have a set number of vacation days … which means I’d have to bank – more than several days in lieu to pull it off. Plus, we haven’t set dates yet – and I’m hoping I have enough seniority for my employer to let me move it around once those dates are decided.

But hey, the year’s still young. Anything could happen between now and July, right?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I must go peruse Amazon – there’s a travel book that’s calling my name.

Leave a Reply

