You’re Pregnant; I Just Eat Lots of Cookies

Being 34, I’m obviously in that stage of life where my married friends, acquaintances and peers may be expecting their first child – or expanding their growing family.

But damn, if I haven’t been a bit surprised at the baby wave lately! Seriously, what is up with all the baby bumps and stork deliveries, yo?

I must seriously be living in a cave.

I was recently invited to the baby shower of a long-time friend I didn’t even KNOW was pregnant. In the span of a week, I’ve found out about three people I know who are expecting babies in the summer. And I suspect a fourth, but I’m not entirely sure – I’m still a novice in my baby-bump-detecting skills.

Yes, yes, it’s a part of life, yadda yadda. But it never ceases to amaze me, y’know? It’s kind of like there’s two parallel roads, and I’m driving down one while observing friends approaching the on-ramp for the other.

Perhaps the other reason I’ve been taken off-guard is because people are (rightfully so) low-key.

I mean, I’m glad that the people I know are down-to-earth and aren’t those smug parents-to-be, crowing from the rooftops about their buns in the oven – y’know, kind of like this:

But at the same time, it’s getting to the point where I’m starting to stare at my co-workers’ tummies if they seem a little pudgier than usual.

And I’m now seriously contemplating searching Facebook profiles of suspected pregnant friends by stealth – it seems like it’s the only way I can keep up with all these bundles of joy!

I COULD ask … but you know the major faux pas in that.

And, for the record: I’m not. I just love Starbucks Chocolate Chunk Cookies. A LOT.

Leave a Reply

