May-Be Full of Possibilities?

“It’s a good thing Margaret Mitchell suffered a broken ankle back in 1925. She got so bored as she lay around the house recuperating that she started writing a book. Eventually it blossomed into the 423,000-word blockbuster Gone With The Wind, which sold 30 million copies and won her the Pulitzer Prize. Judging from your current astrological omens, Aquarius, I suspect that you, too, may soon be offered an opportunity disguised as a ho-hum problem.”

– Rob Brezsny’s Freewill Astrology, April 29

 

Blue skies with fluffy clouds.

Warm sun beating on my neck.

Feeling the light breeze travel through the SRT station as I sniff the sweet aroma of the nearby Dad’s cookie factory.

This, to me, marks the beginning of The Good Season – that period from mid-spring to summer that gets me out of my mental funk, at least temporarily.

It’s May once again. And again, I’ve got the vibes that come with good weather. I’ve got a bit of spring in my step, and I’m slowly noticing the colour returning to the city after several months of muted hues.

And again, my mind’s filled with thoughts … of melancholy over having to return to work just when I’ve gotten a brief taste of freedom … and of making my life a tad better than mundane.

But how?

Of course, I’m not wishing to break an ankle (or anything) like old Margaret. ‘Cause gaining 10 pounds would more likely happen, than me churning out a manuscript.

But seriously. With all these good vibes I’ve been taking in over the last few glorious days off work – the sun, the breeze, the feeling of not wearing socks and shoes for the first time in months – something has GOT to give.

Something HAS to happen, to make me change my outlook and slap a smile on my face on the days I have to earn money. ‘Cause my happiness can’t be reduced to only three days a week. This has got to translate, somehow.

All I want is a sign that there’s an opportunity (one that I would love, WITHOUT HESITATION) just up ahead, and that I should bide my time.

I just hope I haven’t already gotten it. ‘Cause that would suck.

Leave a Reply

