A Little Crochet Crazy

Every year, three friends and I do a Christmas gift exchange, with the actual exchange of presents happening sometime around New Year’s.

This year, I decided I was going to be a bit ambitious and make something for my friend.

But what?

And that’s when I remembered my occasional ability to crochet.

I’m not quite sure when I first cultivated an interest. It might have been in my late teens, when my mom – a newbie to the craft herself – had ended up making this very cute ripple afghan for a friend of hers.

And then over the years, I go back to it occasionally. The strange thing is, it’s never truly stuck. I never do any of it in the spring, summer or fall. But the minute there’s frost and the threat of snowflakes, the craft geek in me stirs, and wipes the sleep from her crafty eyes.

Usually, all it takes is for me to look at a picture of some blanket or other fashion accessory. And before you can say “popcorn stitch”, I’m digging around in the linen closet trying to find all my hooks and the big bags full of unused yarn … and then it’s off to the nearest Wal-Mart or Zellers, looking for even MORE acrylic yarn.

It’s like a two-month long, crafting booty call.

The only exception to this rule was last year. I did feel the urge. But I guess my inner sloth managed to gag and tie up my inner crocheter, ’cause I managed to ignore it until the feeling passed.

This year, though, it’s back with a vengeance.

Perhaps it’s my age. I really don’t know why. But it’s strong. I’ve already made my friend’s gift, and am now starting on a hat and scarf for myself.

Usually that’s as far as it gets. But who knows? Maybe this year, I can crank out a cowl scarf for someone else … or maybe a whole afghan.

I’m trying not to get ahead of myself, because usually when I hit the height of my beginner’s crochet zeal, is usually when I lose complete interest for another year.

But if it doesn’t … consider yourself warned.

Leave a Reply

