The Road Less Travelled

Last month, my blog buddy Thrill recently posted about an online piece he came across about random daytrips … and how cool the idea actually is.

That got me to thinking about how many places I HAVEN’T been in my own province … some of them only a couple of hours away. Others, a bit longer.

I guess I’d been so busy in recent years exploring the world on the other side of the Atlantic Ocean, the need to explore my own backyard’s been sorely neglected.

For example, I’ve yet to go to places like Elora, Kitchener-Waterloo, St. Jacob’s or Stratford. I only recently made it down to Windsor, but for the main purpose of attending a friend’s wedding.

But I wouldn’t mind doing something like that this fall … making plans to jump in a car with friends and drive somewhere … taking in the scenery and landscape as it changes from skyscrapers to crops and trees giving me the annual autumn show as they change their leaves. 

Another thing I’ve recently wanted to do more of is hopping state-side and visiting a couple of American cities. Last fall was New York. I’d love to check out places like Chicago or Vegas. Or Washington. Or Portland, Oregon. Or San Francisco …

Oh, I could go on. But I think I’ll stop here. It’ll only make my inner vagabond whimper with longing.

But she’s overdue for an adventure – even if it’s only a tiny one.

Leave a Reply

