Plantwatch 2009, Day 3

miscellaneous-010So, yeah …

Remember what my plant looked like below? This is what it looks like now.

Compare and contrast, boys and girls.

I don’t know whether this is because:

 (a) it’s assuming its natural position after spending three days standing up straight 

(b) It’s not getting enough water, even though I was told to let it dry out before watering it again, or

(c) it was a combination of my mother and I trying to get the bugs off of it.  I went over it with a wet cotton swab Wednesday morning; she cleaned it with a combination of  soap (I can only guess it was gentle?), water and vinegar Wednesday afternoon.

Plant hobbyists and pros will probably be horrified if they read this. But my mom has eight other plants which are thriving quite nicely, thank you very much. And the thing had bugs – most likely mites. Something had to be done.

And I’m not any closer to figuring out exactly what it is, although I was given a guess that  it could be one of two possible genera of plant.

I reeeeally hope it doesn’t die on me.

Update: After a couple of inquiries, mystery solved. This is my plant. And, as it turned out, it had aphids. Love-er-ly. At least now I now how to treat and care for it.

2 thoughts on “Plantwatch 2009, Day 3

  1. Kristy says:

    Maybe it’s just growing toward the sunlight. Almost all of my plants in Toronto were crooked because they were stretching toward the window.

Leave a Reply

