Name This Plant!

miscellaneous-002Calling all plant lovers – both novice and professional – out there in the blogosphere …

I have but one question:

What IS this?

(I apologize if the quality of the picture isn’t up to snuff – it’s the best I could do with the ol’ digital.)

I got this lovely houseplant yesterday as a birthday gift from a friend. She didn’t seem to remember the name either. But she told me:

(1) It likes sunlight – west views especially.

(2) It blooms.

(3) For the moment, I should water it as much as it needs, and maybe give it black tea weekly or so. 

The leaves aren’t fuzzy so it’s (obviously) not an African violet – but for all I know, it could be a cousin of the same family.

I keep getting the impression it’s some sort of begonia relative, but I’m probably wrong.

If someone out there could help me identify this mystery plant so I can get this little guy re-potted to make sure it doesn’t develop root-rot and die (because that would make me sad, especially now in winter), I’d gladly appreciate it.

4 thoughts on “Name This Plant!

  1. Ivynettle says:

    I’d also say Kalanchoe blossfeldiana (Flaming Katy). It does look very different from the ones you get in shops, but they do that when they get older.
    They can bloom again, though it’s a bit tricky, because they’re short-day plants, meaning they only bloom when they get less than a certain number of hours of daylight a day for several weeks.

Leave a Reply

