Central Europe: Epilogue 2.0

I can’t believe it’s been a month since I got back. 

My re-entry back into rainy Toronto wasn’t as humdrum as I hoped. I was stuck at the airport for an extra hour and a half because I gave my parents the wrong arrival time. And Thanks to one supposedly efficient German airline (I’m looking at you, Lufthansa), my luggage was stuck in Manchester for three days.

But when I got home, man, was I EVER glad to have my first hot shower on North American soil. 

Much like my return from Spain last year, the travel bug has got me in a headlock. I’m restless, but not nearly as cranky as I was previously.

It could have something to do with how short this trip was. It might also have something to do with the last-minute planning on my part and the tour’s hit-the-ground-running, frenetic pace.

Make no mistake. I met a lot of cool people during my trip, a few of whom I’ve been keeping in touch with. I saw a lot of places I probably wouldn’t have gotten to in my lifetime, had I not taken on this itinerary. And I was pleasantly surprised by a few of the places I visited. I definitely would like to return one day.

But I have to say, I don’t like flitting around like that- at least in Europe. I like going at my own pace, spending at least two or three days in a city, rather than only a day and a half. I like marinating in my surroundings, if you will. Yes, I can now say I’ve been to these places. But in my heart, I know I haven’t truly been. Know what I mean?

I haven’t had a whole lot of down-time since I returned. I’ve been back at work for exactly a month now. And I’ve got the usual things on the brain. What I’m going to do about my current job situation … My living situation … 

And with the bank stamp barely dry on the enormous VISA bill I just paid, I’m already thinking about my next trip. I don’t even know if it’ll come to fruition, but if I can make it happen, I know of two things:

(1) It will be on a continent other than Europe. (Unless I somehow make big enough bucks to make a short stop somewhere on the way home.)

(2) I would like to go next spring – sometime around March or April … time and finances permitting.

If there was only a way to bank enough days in lieu and and work save enough cash to make it happen …

 Guess I’ll have to wait and see, won’t I ?

2 thoughts on “Central Europe: Epilogue 2.0

  1. I also prefer to stay in a country longer that just one day, on the other hand you were able to see quite a lot.
    Perhaps, we are the last people that can fly.
    Soon the petrol price will be to expensive forcing air companies to withdraw from the business.
    One day you will tell your grandchildren – you know, your grandma was flying over the ocean –
    -No kidding – they’ll say.

  2. dicampbell says:

    Hey Befana,

    You’re probably right – isn’t it sad, though? I really hope that isn’t the case, but I guess that might be the reality …

Leave a Reply

