Ruled by Cards

It’s been said that things like clothes or personal opinions can say a lot about a person.

I am a believer in some of those things. But I also think you can tell a lot about a person by what’s in their wallet.

And based on this logic, I have a problem with being able to say no.

Case in point:

Thursday morning before work, I went to the card store to pick up some cards for those two weddings I’m attending in about a month, as well as a birthday card.

The place was empty, so I luckily didn’t have to wait in line. As the cashier/saleswoman told me the total, she piped up, “If you buy six cards, you get three free …”

Are you kidding? I thought. I said, “No, I can’t think of anyone else I need to get cards for at this point. Thanks.”

She then swiftly asked, “Do you have a Card Club card?” I said no. “Would you like one?” she continued, and then made her spiel on the free rewards I could get with the card.

And for some reason, I didn’t say no. I figured it was easier to say yes, because I didn’t want to be late for work. But that logic didn’t seem to sit with me as I filled out the form with information she’d later put into the system.

As I left the store I thought, suckered again! Like I need another card.

Come to think of it, I’m beginning to wonder if I have a card for EVERYTHING. Everytime I go to the cash register at the store, I feel as if I spend more time fishing around in my wallet to find my Air Miles card than I do finding the $20 to pay for my purchase. 

Since that happened, I’ve wondered exactly how many cards I have.

And after emptying my wallet in the last 15 minutes, the answer’s apparently 22. 

Six are actually essential and worth using – credit cards, social insurance, health card, bank card, driver’s license.

One’s a library card. Another’s my union card (which I never really look at anyway).

One’s my Starbucks “debit” card. (For cookie-related emergencies only … which have been happening more frequently as of late. Don’t judge me.)

Yet another is a games card for Jack Astor’s, which I think I may have last used several years ago.

Four are membership cards, although one is for a store.

And the rest, believe it are not, are points cards. You know. The Aeroplan card. Air Miles card. The Body Shop card. Staples card.

And now this one.

Twenty-two cards? Who has that many in their wallet?

I think I’m letting plastic rule my life. I am a card-aholic. And I think I might need help.

Maybe there’s a Cardholders Anonymous group out there for people like me. ‘Cause this is gettin’ scary.

One thought on “Ruled by Cards

  1. Julie says:

    i carry my social insurance card too! – apparently you’re not really supposed to. but that’s one LONG number that i’m not prepared to memorize. i suppose we should though… it would help cut down the plastic invasion in our wallets!

Leave a Reply

