Not Even In Winter

In another part of the city on Saturday night …

A friend of mine and her boyfriend were leaving a relaxing dinner at their friends’ house and were heading out to other parties – including the one I was at – when they witnessed a young woman being attacked by a guy.

She was apparently bawling and screaming, as this guy was yelling at her, jerking her around by her wrist, and chewing her out when she fell on the icy sidewalk.

My friends tailed the two of them and called 911. They discovered that horrible guy was that young woman’s boyfriend, and it sounded like they were having a domestic dispute. Understandably, my friend was freaked out.

I certainly hope that woman – wherever she is now – is okay. I can’t fathom what might’ve happened to her if my friend and her boyfriend weren’t around to see that.

It also makes me realize how much I take my personal security for granted. It’s funny (strange, not ha ha) … but for some reason, I have my guard up much more when the weather’s warmer. Not in winter. Don’t ask me why.

It’s quite a sobering thought. So for women like myself, who travel home by themselves often, a reminder to be careful. Pay attention to your surroundings. And stay alert. 

I certainly will be making more of an effort to.

2 thoughts on “Not Even In Winter

Leave a Reply

