Moving … For Love?

This past weekend, I got a Facebook e-mail from a friend of mine I’d recently seen about three weekends ago.

Turns out he was having an “all contents sale” – selling everything in his house because, he said, “I can’t take it with me!”

He’s not redecorating. He’s moving to London – for a woman he met only recently.

The backstory:

Shortly after I returned from Spain, in September, my friend and a buddy of his went to Spain with a Contiki tour. From what I could piece together, he met this girl – who happens to be from London – and they immediately clicked.

Shortly after returning, he was on a plane to London to see her about two weeks later.

Last month, he had a bunch of people over to hang out and meet his new lady. His friend (also a friend and I) jokingly bet over whether or not he’d move to London for her. He said yes. I said no.

(He also bet me $200. I said he was out of his mind, but that I still thought I was right.)

Maybe I didn’t believe he’d do it so quickly, because I remember blinking hard after reading the e-mail that he was selling all his stuff.

I understand we should all take chances in life … that taking the risk is sometimes better than not doing so at all. 

And when you really feel a connection with someone – stronger than any you’ve ever felt for anyone else – then you want to be as close to them as you can.

And I can understand how excruciatingly difficult a trans-Atlantic relationship could be. I don’t think I could do it, because of the emotional toll on both people. 

But after only two months?

I could understand if they’d been in this relationship for a year … nay, even six months. But two? It just seems a bit rash, considering all the things he has to change to be with this woman …

Sell his house. Find a new job. Do the paperwork to be able to work over there. Completely readjust.

I know, I know. I’m old-fashioned and narrow-minded (though I don’t mean to be). And it’s not my life, it’s his. And what if he doesn’t take the risk? Then he’d be asking “What if?” for the rest of his life.

I just hope that it all works in his favour – and that it doesn’t end in heartache.

One thought on “Moving … For Love?

  1. Caroline says:

    But Diane, isn’t better to have loved and lost than to never to have loved at all?

    Perhaps it’s the romantic in me that says this, but these gestures are kind of nice. Maybe your friend was in the mood to try something new and being with someone who “rocks his world” was the icing on the cake!

    Do I know this guy?

Leave a Reply

